Project

Profile

Help

Issue #3445

closed

Remove the ability for users to delete a single content unit.

Added by daviddavis about 6 years ago. Updated over 4 years ago.

Status:
CLOSED - CURRENTRELEASE
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
Category:
-
Sprint/Milestone:
Start date:
Due date:
Estimated time:
Severity:
3. High
Version:
Platform Release:
OS:
Triaged:
Yes
Groomed:
No
Sprint Candidate:
No
Tags:
Sprint:
Sprint 35
Quarter:

Description

When we sync for example we have the following workflow:

1. Download artifact(s) and save them
2. Create content unit
3. Add artifact(s) to my content unit
4. Add the content unit to my base_version

While each step is atomic, the entire workflow is not. Therefore, a user could delete a content unit anytime after step 2. This creates a problem for syncing and other tasks that use content units.

For the MVP, we should instead just remove this functionality and require users to use orphan cleanup instead:

https://pulp.plan.io/issues/3442


Related issues

Related to Pulp - Story #3442: As a user, I can clean up both orphaned content units and orphaned artifactsCLOSED - CURRENTRELEASEdaviddavis

Actions
Related to Pulp - Test #4216: test_crud_content_unit should test that content units cannot be deleted manuallyCLOSED - COMPLETEdalleyActions
Actions #1

Updated by daviddavis about 6 years ago

  • Subject changed from I can delete content units that are being actively used by other things to I can delete content units that are being actively used by tasks
  • Tags Pulp 3, Pulp 3 MVP added
Actions #2

Updated by daviddavis about 6 years ago

  • Related to Story #3442: As a user, I can clean up both orphaned content units and orphaned artifacts added
Actions #3

Updated by dalley about 6 years ago

  • Severity changed from 2. Medium to 3. High
  • Triaged changed from No to Yes
Actions #4

Updated by dalley about 6 years ago

This essentially duplicates https://pulp.plan.io/issues/3380

Which should we leave open?

Actions #5

Updated by amacdona@redhat.com about 6 years ago

  • Status changed from NEW to ASSIGNED
  • Assignee set to dalley

dalley, since you are assigned to the other one, I assigned you this one as well so we don't forget about it. I don't think it really matters which stays open, but if there is useful information on one, please copy it to the other.

Actions #7

Updated by daviddavis about 6 years ago

  • Subject changed from I can delete content units that are being actively used by tasks to Remove the ability for users to delete a single content unit.
  • Description updated (diff)
Actions #8

Updated by daviddavis about 6 years ago

  • Description updated (diff)
  • Sprint set to Sprint 35
Actions #9

Updated by dalley about 6 years ago

  • Status changed from ASSIGNED to POST

Added by dalley about 6 years ago

Revision 2e9f917f | View on GitHub

Remove ability to delete content units

closes #3445 https://pulp.plan.io/issues/3445

Added by dalley about 6 years ago

Revision 2e9f917f | View on GitHub

Remove ability to delete content units

closes #3445 https://pulp.plan.io/issues/3445

Actions #10

Updated by dalley about 6 years ago

  • Status changed from POST to MODIFIED
Actions #11

Updated by dkliban@redhat.com almost 6 years ago

  • Sprint/Milestone set to 3.0.0
Actions #12

Updated by dalley over 5 years ago

  • Related to Test #4216: test_crud_content_unit should test that content units cannot be deleted manually added
Actions #13

Updated by bmbouter almost 5 years ago

  • Tags deleted (Pulp 3, Pulp 3 MVP)
Actions #14

Updated by bmbouter over 4 years ago

  • Status changed from MODIFIED to CLOSED - CURRENTRELEASE

Also available in: Atom PDF