Project

Profile

Help

Issue #3445

Remove the ability for users to delete a single content unit.

Added by daviddavis over 1 year ago. Updated 6 months ago.

Status:
MODIFIED
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
Category:
-
Sprint/Milestone:
Start date:
Due date:
Severity:
3. High
Version:
Platform Release:
Blocks Release:
OS:
Backwards Incompatible:
No
Triaged:
Yes
Groomed:
No
Sprint Candidate:
No
Tags:
QA Contact:
Complexity:
Smash Test:
Verified:
No
Verification Required:
No
Sprint:
Sprint 35

Description

When we sync for example we have the following workflow:

1. Download artifact(s) and save them
2. Create content unit
3. Add artifact(s) to my content unit
4. Add the content unit to my base_version

While each step is atomic, the entire workflow is not. Therefore, a user could delete a content unit anytime after step 2. This creates a problem for syncing and other tasks that use content units.

For the MVP, we should instead just remove this functionality and require users to use orphan cleanup instead:

https://pulp.plan.io/issues/3442


Related issues

Related to Pulp - Story #3442: As a user, I can clean up both orphaned content units and orphaned artifacts MODIFIED Actions
Related to Pulp - Test #4216: test_crud_content_unit should test that content units cannot be deleted manually CLOSED - COMPLETE Actions

Associated revisions

Revision 2e9f917f View on GitHub
Added by dalley over 1 year ago

Remove ability to delete content units

closes #3445
https://pulp.plan.io/issues/3445

Revision 2e9f917f View on GitHub
Added by dalley over 1 year ago

Remove ability to delete content units

closes #3445
https://pulp.plan.io/issues/3445

Revision 2e9f917f View on GitHub
Added by dalley over 1 year ago

Remove ability to delete content units

closes #3445
https://pulp.plan.io/issues/3445

History

#1 Updated by daviddavis over 1 year ago

  • Subject changed from I can delete content units that are being actively used by other things to I can delete content units that are being actively used by tasks
  • Tags Pulp 3, Pulp 3 MVP added

#2 Updated by daviddavis over 1 year ago

  • Related to Story #3442: As a user, I can clean up both orphaned content units and orphaned artifacts added

#3 Updated by dalley over 1 year ago

  • Severity changed from 2. Medium to 3. High
  • Triaged changed from No to Yes

#4 Updated by dalley over 1 year ago

This essentially duplicates https://pulp.plan.io/issues/3380

Which should we leave open?

#5 Updated by amacdona@redhat.com over 1 year ago

  • Status changed from NEW to ASSIGNED
  • Assignee set to dalley

@dalley, since you are assigned to the other one, I assigned you this one as well so we don't forget about it. I don't think it really matters which stays open, but if there is useful information on one, please copy it to the other.

#7 Updated by daviddavis over 1 year ago

  • Subject changed from I can delete content units that are being actively used by tasks to Remove the ability for users to delete a single content unit.
  • Description updated (diff)

#8 Updated by daviddavis over 1 year ago

  • Description updated (diff)
  • Sprint set to Sprint 35

#9 Updated by dalley over 1 year ago

  • Status changed from ASSIGNED to POST

#10 Updated by dalley over 1 year ago

  • Status changed from POST to MODIFIED

#11 Updated by dkliban@redhat.com over 1 year ago

  • Sprint/Milestone set to 3.0

#12 Updated by dalley 11 months ago

  • Related to Test #4216: test_crud_content_unit should test that content units cannot be deleted manually added

#13 Updated by bmbouter 6 months ago

  • Tags deleted (Pulp 3, Pulp 3 MVP)

Please register to edit this issue

Also available in: Atom PDF