Project

Profile

Help

Issue #4449

Updated by dalley over 1 year ago

Syncing with mirror=True is a destructive operation, and it's especially destructive if you are storing multiple content types in the same repository. Since mirror mode doesn't respect plugin type boundaries [0], doing a mirror sync will wipe out any content in the repo that isn't of a type handled by plugin performing the sync.

Even with copious documented warnings which we don't yet have [1], I feel like this is a bad default value. The concern that repositories would accumulate too many old packages that are never cleaned is valid, but it's likely able to be solved in much less destructive ways than this.

This problem could also be resolved by making mirror mode respect type boundaries [0], but that seems architecturally difficult.

[0] https://pulp.plan.io/issues/3961
[1] https://pulp.plan.io/issues/4341

Back